Butte-Meade Sanitary Water District

QOT logo

March 10, 2021

A regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Butte-Meade Sanitary Water District was held at District Office on March 10th, 2021 at 8:00 a.m.  The meeting was called to order by the President of the Board, Bob Lewis at 8:01 a.m. Unless otherwise noted, all Board action was by unanimous decision.

Members Present: Bob Lewis, Brian Stambaugh, Gary Velder, Judy Heisler, Penny Oedekoven , Hope Komes temporary acting Clerk Treasurer, Mike Wolff, District Manager. Absent: None.

Motion by Penny Oedekoven, second Brian Stambaugh to adopt the agenda. All voted yea.

The Minutes of the regular February 10th meeting were read and approved on a motion by Brian Stambaugh, second Gary Velder . All voted yea. The Minutes of the special February 25th, 2021 meeting were read and approved on a motion by Brian Stambaugh, second by Gary Velder. All voted yea.

The Treasurer’s Report and bills were approved on a motion by Bob Lewis, second Gary Velder. All voted yea:

Trustee Gary Velder requested that beginning with the April Board Meeting, the Pledge of Allegiance be recited. 

The Board approved Hope Komes as the temporary acting Clerk Treasurer until further notice. They also requested that Clerk Komes contact the bank to start online banking as well as setting up an appointment with the auditor.

Manager Wolff presented his monthly repair and maintenance report which included:

  • A main break in the Nisland area as well as a leak at the Johnson Lateral near Belle Fourche, with repairs being completed. 
  • Several frozen meters due to the cold snap with reference made to using better insulating discs.
  • New taps to be installed.
  • Low pressure for a customer in the Nisland area.  Will put pressure recorder in to measure overnight pressure and following up with customer.
  • Permits received back from the Bureau and County.


On a motion by Gary Velder, second Brian Stambaugh, the meeting was adjourned at 10:05 am.


ATTEST:    Merri Stapp                                       Bob Lewis 

               Clerk-Treasurer                                  President of the Board

ATTEST:    Merri Stapp                                                  Clerk-Treasurer 

                  Bob Lewis                                                    President of the Board